Weekly Photo Challenge: Mumbai Rains Sea Adventure

My 5 day lone adventure in Mumbai proved to me a memorable one. It was the first time I traveled alone, and that too in a big, fast metropolis. But the Maximum City greeted me with its liveliness and even with its powerful gushing rains. Of the five days, I spent two days near sea. Carrying an umbrella which broke halfway through my travels, I managed to capture some shots of the ‘Mumbai Rains.’

Beach 01
Heavy rains and low hanging clouds.

I stepped on the wet sands of the first beach to get a beautiful view of the Bandra-Worli Sea Link. It seemed as if the bridge was struggling to make itself visible in all the thick grey clouds. It was at that time I realised that I hadn’t ever seen clouds which were so low. The vast open expanse made the clouds look like they were just ten floors above.

I turned to my right to get another view which felt like a still coming straight out of an apocalyptic movie. All I could think of were two words, ‘Storm’s coming.’ I wondered about the people stuck in Bandra. How awful they would have felt. Or perhaps a bit happy?

Storm's coming.
Storm’s coming.

 After a couple of hours, I made by way towards the Gateway of India sidewalk. Refreshed with coffee which I had in Starbucks nearby, I saw a line of people hanging about. There were families with little children waiting for the tides to rush above the cement railings, there were folks of my age chilling with roasted corncobs and peanuts. There were photographers, balloon sellers and even foreigners. The wet look of the Taj added to the pinkish-grey beauty.

Gateway of India Sidewalk
Gateway of India Sidewalk

I realised the rains were one reason which brought a smile to everyone’s faces. I observed the people hanging around the place, some with umbrellas and some madly drenched without a raincoat. These people enjoyed being drenched even more by the crashing of the waves. Even I had to dodge the powerful waves although it made no difference for  I was drenched already. (Stupid umbrella.)

The flooding sea.
The flooding sea.

I was in for more surprises at Marine Drive where it seemed as if the whole city had come to enjoy the never ending  rains. The weekend crowd at the Golden Necklace was in a gleeful mood. Every single person had a smile on their faces. (Yes, almost everyone.) I saw people struggling with their umbrellas, people sheltering their child as they walked by, people dancing and singing. More and more people came every minute.

Marine Drive
Marine Drive

After looking for a spot to sit down, I put my umbrella back on my bag. It was useless now as I was already heavily drenched. (Stupid umbrella.) And because it was more fun. I saw two badass dudes in their boat in front of me. I couldn’t see a motor or an oar. What were the upto only they would have known. These badass dudes were brave enough to venture in the thrashing sea.

Badass dudes.
Badass dudes.

I noticed many crabs crawling on the rocks and sadly I couldn’t spot a sea snake which everyone had told me about before.

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

Some more photos from the following day’s Bandra adventure. Also in heavy rain.

Carter Road Promenade.
Carter Road Promenade.
Perfect place to live?
Perfect place to live?
Bandra Bandstand.
Bandra Bandstand.

The sadist rains sure made my trip a memorable one. Oh you!

– The Moonshaker

P.S. The Daily Post made me want to write on my adventures.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Mumbai Rains Sea Adventure

Leave a Reply

